• Uncategorized
  • 0

76 athletes will represent Russia on the Deaflympics

On the final meeting of the commission on control of training of the national Deaflympic team of Russia the final list of team members was approved. The commission also came to a conclusion that the organizing committee of the Games is ready to host the forthcoming competitions.

«Everything is done in accordance with the time-schedule – streets and buildings in Khanty-Mansiysk and Magnitogorsk are already being decorated with flags and banners of the Deaflympics, sport venues are also being prepared without problems, – said the head of the commission, the deputy Minister of Sport of Russia Pavel Kolobkov. – The opening ceremony will start in Khanty-Mansiysk on March’28 at 20:15 local time».

The final application list for the national team included 186 people, 76 of them are athletes. It is to be reminded that for the first time in history Russian team will participate in all 5 Deaflympic disciplines: cross-country skiing, ice hockey, snowboard, alpine skiing and curling.

«The team members are representing 16 regions of Russia, – says the President of the Russian Committee of Deaf Sports Alexander Romantsov. – The biggest number of athletes are from Moscow (15 people), Bashkortostan (11 people), Novosibirsk region and Komi republic (8 people each). The team is form in accordance with the criteria approved by the commission. Our aim is gold medals in three disciplines out of 5, but this is a very conservative prognosis».

Nevertheless, the officials of the Russian Committee of Deaf Sportsthink that the team will be able to renew its success on the last Winter Deaflympics. In 2007 in Salt Lake City, USA Russian team was the leader of the unofficial medal count, says website Sportbox.ru.

It is to be noted that the application forms for participating in the Deaflympics were also sent by 25 other countries. The capital of Ugra is looking forward to see the national teams of Armenia, Austria, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Mongolia, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, USA and Pakistan.


You may also like...